Skip to content
August 26, 2012 / bpeveril

I needed that

It’s something I’ve needed for a while. I’ve been looking for just the right one, almost moved on some, but never found just the right one. Then, after a phone call before work yesterday, I got up at the crack of seven today and drove for more than an hour.

image

After writing an entire novel sitting cross legged on the bed, or the couch, or stealing a moment here and there on the kitchen table, I’m excited about having a place where writing happens. It’s not a corner office, by any stretch, but a desk in the office with the girls is better than what I had. When I sit there I can look out the window, set my coffee cup someplace safe, set a paper down and maybe find it again later. This is all terribly exciting.

Okay, it’s a little bit exciting. For me. The daughter neatly arranged all of the things she thought I would need to write on it, including a stack of Discworld novels I found at the yard sale with the desk, a framed picture of her, and a Cthulu puppet. She filled the drawer with ink bottles, empty notebooks, and polyhedral dice. She’s welcome in my office any time.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. speveril / Aug 26 2012 5:46 am

    That sounds like exactly the right stuff. Congrats on the desk.

Leave a Reply

